Home Education Maintenance of Certification (MOC)

Maintenance of Certification (MOC)


ABIM announces plans to offer physicians MOC assessment options in January 2018

On December 14, the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) announced an alternative to the 10-year recertification exam, beginning in 2018.

At that time, physicians who are certified by ABIM in internal medicine and needing to recertify in internal medicine will have the option to take a lower-stakes exam every 2 years, rather than taking a high stakes exam every 10 years. These changes only apply to the internal medicine exam, at this time, and have not yet been ​applied to subspecialty exams.

Read the announcement and the FAQs regarding these changes.

CHEST will ​be exploring how our education will evolve to address these key changes and the ever-changing needs of our members.

ABIM MOC Requirement Changes Made in 2015

  • MOC requirements apply to ALL diplomates, including "grandparents."
  • MOC is a continuous process:
    • Some activity required every 2 years
    • 100 points required every 5 years

ABIM has suspended the Practice Assessment, Patient Voice, and Patient Safety requirements until December 31, 2018. To learn more about these and other changes, visit

MOC Timeline:

Every 2 years:
some MOC activity
Every 5 years:
100 MOC points
Every 10 years:
MOC Exam

How Do I Get Started?


Call the ABIM Diplomate Service Center at 1-800/441-2246—Monday through Friday, 8:30 am to 8:00 pm ET; Saturday, 9:00 am to 12:00 pm ET.

The 3 Components of MOC

Maintain Your State License (MOL)

Participate in Medical Knowledge Activities

Take the Secure MOC Exam